RSS

What exactly I am doing

30 Sep

Some people have quite doubt on my workings..this is meant for them only.

After completing my M.Sc.(June,2004) from Tezpur Central University, I took admission in Post Graduate Diploma in Computer Application (PGDCA) in Cotton College….my target was to do M.Tech. in Information Technology. Since in Tezpur University, to do the M.Tech. in IT, you need to have the bachelor degree in the engineering and the technical courses…but they have given some chances to those people who have done their Masters in basic sciences…but for those who are simply Master in Science, they have to get the PGDCA. This was the rule at that time. Since my target was to do M.Tech. so I joined the PGDCA in the month of December, 2004. After clearing my first semester, in August 2005, our classes were just started. I got an advertisement in the Assam Tribune asking for a project fellow in a UGC sponsored project under the supervision of Dr. Binod Chandra Tripathy. I decided to appear in the interview since the topic of the project was of my interest and the institute was good enough. But before attending the interview, I could not even imagine that there was such a big and good research institute in Guwahati.

It is Institute of Advanced study in Science and Technology (IASST), Paschim Boragaon, near Lokhra….director is Prof. Joyanti Chutia, the famous scientist in Plasma physics and a well known writer.

To my great surprise, I got the fellowship upto 31st December,2007. I joined there on the 3rd October,2005 and my guide asked me to register myself in the Ph.D. degree in Gauhati University, since IASST has the affiliation under Gauhati University. In my interview, I told frankly to the experts that I wanted to continue my PGDCA course also. After my joining, my guide told me that I could continue my PGDCA course also, but not regularly. If I could devote some of my time in that course, then they have no problem. I got the permission from the Co ordinator of the PGDCA course also to attend my classes sometimes and to appear the final exam. In the second semester, I have completed 4 papers and a full project. That period was very hectic for me. In the month of march,2006, I appeared for the final exam and submitted my synopsis for the Ph.D. also.

Finally in the month of June,2006, I got the the chance to register myself in the Ph.D. and in the meantime I passed my PGDCA exam also.

My research works continued….I have completed my Ph.D. research works within my project duration. But as per the university rule, I could not submit my thesis before completing 3 years of the registration. So my due date was after June,2009. My Ph.D. fellowship was finished in the month of December, 2007 and though my Ph.D. works wre also finished I could not submit my thesis upto June,2009. From January,2008, I worked without any fellowship. That time, I could not apply for another fellowship also.

But Department of Science and Technology(DST, GoI) has offered some fellowship to the women research scholar, but they are mainly Post Doctoral Fellowship. I went thoroughly to their website and found that they offer the same fellowship for some women researcher mentioning some conditions….should have a break in career for few months, should have a bright career throughout, should have the research experience for minimum 2 years..should have some research publications, patents and should have a good and motivated project proposal. I applied for the fellowship and surprisingly got it also. Post Doctoral fellowship before Ph.D….quite doubtful for all people…but I got it for 3 years.

I joined as a Women Scientist at IASST on of 1st April,2009 (since DST takes some time to implement the fellowship) after doing all the official requirements. In the month of February, 2010, I have submitted the thesis and now waiting for the result. Due to my marriage, I applied DST to transfer my fellowship from IASST to IIT, Bombay.

In IIT, Bombay, I need one Co-Guide to guide my research works..here I knew not a single person. After going through all the faculty members’ websites in the Department of Mathematics, IIT, Bombay, I found Prof. Inder Kumar Rana, who is working in my field. I approached him telling my reason to get transferred to IIT, Bombay. Surprisingly he agreed to work with me and asked me to do the necessary official jobs in this regard. After getting the NOC from both the Institutes (IITB and IASST) I applied DST for my transfer.

After almost 4 months, I got the transfer to IITB and joined as a Women Scientist in the Department of Mathematics, IITB on the 18th May’2010 and continuing my research works here itself.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 30, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

5 responses to “What exactly I am doing

  1. koyel das

    September 30, 2010 at 5:41 am

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

     
  2. bet365

    October 2, 2010 at 9:09 pm

    hi!This was a really terrific post!
    I come from roma, I was fortunate to search your subject in digg
    Also I obtain a lot in your theme really thank your very much i will come later

     
  3. MichaelWhitney

    October 12, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    …enjoyed the question asked by Smritimala[:)][:)]…btw do acknowledge her.

     
  4. stuti ranjeet konwar

    October 13, 2010 at 4:39 am

    definitely you madam…..even can’t think about it…..thanks a lot

     

Leave a Reply

 
