RSS

Proud to be a friend

20 Sep

In the mid of our 2nd semester in Tezpur University, our friend Anamika (Chemical Sciences) lost her father. He was suffering from cancer for the last few months. Anamika was mentally prepared for the worst ready for her life as her father’s health slowly deteriorated. Still she always kept herself busy with her studies as our Mid term exam started knocking our doors. But one morning, just before our exam, we got the sad news. Anamika’s father expired. The whole hostel came to her to console her in different ways….somebody encouraged her to be strong to face the situation while some others started crying with her to show their feelings. I simply observed her face and studied it what the storm was passing by this face as I also experienced the same situation at the mid of my Part I exam at Cotton College. Anamika was finally arranged to go home with her brother Shyamkanu da and Niharika.

After her departure, everything became normalized slowly and we went to our works again. She was also back after few days and attended her courses as well too.

Some days passed away..Anamika shifted to our wing. One night around 11 pm, I was studying at my room and my room’s door was not locked, it was simply closed. Suddenly Anamika came to my room, started crying loudly on my lap saying that she was missing her DITI (what she called her father) terribly… It’s natural…. I did not tell her a single word…simply let her cry. After half an hour, she stood up telling that she had to study for her daily routine works and left my room before I said something. This made me a moment silent..even made me proud to be a friend in deed. Instead of the entire crowded hostel, Anamika used my lap to lighten her emotions. She dropped her tears on my lap only.

Friends are not meant to be together all the time at the same places…they are not meant to be accompanied by physically also….if your company can not remove the loneliness of your friend, then try to make it worthy to be accompanied. It is the most dangerous thing to be alone in a crowd of friends. It is better to be completely alone rather than to be alone after being accompanied by someone. Try to become the one with whom your friend want to share their emotions at the first thought.

NB. Dedicated to all my friends.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Proud to be a friend

  1. Lipi

    September 27, 2010 at 7:13 am

    I agree more than 100%…..

     
  2. Dhanakshi Buragohain Phukan

    September 27, 2010 at 2:29 pm

    I do agree with u.

     
  3. pc spiele

    October 3, 2010 at 1:24 am

    There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

     
  4. Jamie Iomo

    December 8, 2010 at 4:10 am

    Good Afternoon

    This post was interesting, how long did it take you to write?

     

Leave a Reply

 
